IEHA AwardsAwards

Congratulations to the 2022 Award recipients:

Newcomers of the Year: Trenton Kielion & Alex Gustafson
NEHA Stipend: Corine Peplinski 
Chapter Member of Year:
¨ Southern Chapter:  Kyle Scerena
¨ Northern Chapter: David Banaszynski
¨ Central Chapter: Kaylee Halberg

We look forward to receiving new nominations in 2023!

The Illinois Environmental Health Association is committed to advancing the profession and helping those who work in the environmental health field. One of the more conspicuous ways IEHA does this is through its Awards Committee, which reviews applications for stipends, scholarships, and other awards, and then makes recommendations to the IEHA Board regarding who should be honored for professional accomplishments and outstanding contributions.

Sanitarian of the Year is an annual award to recognize a professional that serves as a role model for all members. This person goes above and beyond the normal excellence in his/her field, by teaching, training, and striving to upgrade their own departments and also the total environment as a whole. The recipient receives a certificate to honor these achievements. The award will be presented at the Awards Ceremony at the Annual Educational Conference. 

Newcomer of the Year is an annual award to recognize an outstanding environmental health professional with two years or less experience in the field. The recipient receives a briefcase stocked with assorted equipment commonly used in the profession, free registration to the IEHA Annual Educational Conference, which is held this year in October or November, and one year free Active Membership in IEHA. The award will be presented at the Awards Ceremony at the Annual Educational Conference.